Grey Day Sparrow

I'm rather looking forward to an improvement in the weather, but it's not coming today. Today we are blending the freezing chill of the last week with some delightfully cold rain. Not a day for being outside. House sparrows really ought to know better.

Some of you will know I look after some family tree records for my surname, Rosher. This is not directly linked, but I was moved to find this blog from someone who had traced their family back to our old village church in the late Middle Ages. 

As someone who follows a different path, this nevertheless swims in thoughts of ancestors and spirits of place. My line goes back to Suffolk, a long way from here, but I wonder if there are similar spaces over there that would wake my own feelings so warmly.

Warmly. Ah, there's a word to hold on to, today. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.