Deals Gap - Tail of the Dragon

Took the Mustang up onto Deals Gap this morning. Odd conclusions.

First of all, the drive up from Robbinsville to Deals Gap is just stunning. Kept the Mustang in 3rd gear the whole way and let the V8 do some work for once. I cannot say exactly how fast I was going, but it was rapid to say the least. Rapid but sensible of course. Lets just say that a V8 howling at 6k is an amazing noise.

But in the 20 miles or so I probably did 2 gallons of fuel - the fuel needle was definitely as agile as the rev counter.

Sometimes forget just how fast the Mustang really is.

Got onto Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon) and started on the 318 turns in 11 miles and frankly got a bit seasick of it. In fact, I got a lot seasick. Whilst the Mustang takes the straits and long corners effortlessly, on the tight corners of the Dragon it was no where near as comfortable. Having said that I'm not sure if it's me or the car.

I ended up concluding that on the Gap itself - I MUCH preferred driving our Smart car. The Smart just seemed more composed on the twisty sections, and ultimately more rewarding. The Mustang was just over powered.

Ended the day on a forest shooting range with some friends and the hotel manager. Think my friends (firearm instructors) were a little surprised that I was as accurate as I am - think they were expecting much worse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.