Journies at home

By journiesathome

Hippy TV

So here she is in all her glowing, burning beauty.  The wood burner that's reducing our fuel bells , even though she 's costing us an arm and a leg over 4 monthly payments.  
Let's call her an investment...  as well as a thing of Beauty (yes, I hear you whispering in my ear William Morris; she ticks all the boxes so you'd be proud of us).

Up in the hills the beagles had caught the scent and made a song about it. There were smatterings of snow and bursts of gun fire.  They were to our left so we turned the other way, taking the path through Christmas Wood where Bernie's prepubescent barks rang down the slope through the trees indicating that he'd picked up on something.  I knew that the deer he was after was safe because all Bernie's chasing is futile.

Back home I picked up the massive laminated map of the world I'd salvaged from a tip at school a few months back, along with a dusty cardboard suitcase of old black and white photos and took them round to Lizzie's and Bobby's.

They had home work to do.  

I gave Lizzie a pen and told her to go through the photos and write the names of the people on the back.  I gave Bobby some little red dot stickers, the kind they use in galleries to indicate that a painting has been sold, nailed the world to the wall and asked him to put the dots on the countries he'd flown to and worked in.

When I went back this evening I found Bobby sitting in his stair lift chair like Jacob at the bottom of the ladder and Lizzie scribbling on the back of photos.  She'd been diligent and he was being belligerent.

I made them sandwiches and put them in front of Dirty Dancing in an attempt to change their Netflix algorithms which are stuck on The Crown and Downton .Abbey.  

I left them hand in hand and came home to my hippy TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.