CathyH

By CathyH

Music

In the early morning quiet, I spend time in worship to God. I am studying through the book of Psalms and how it teaches us to worship God.

I also read a chapter from a book written by one of my favorite Christian authors, Max Lucado. The book I’m reading right now is called “Help is Here” which is a study of the Holy Spirit.

After a quiet prayer, I play the piano. I am playing from a book of hymns entitled “Then Sings My Soul.” This book is a collection of hymns from the 11th century to the 20th century. On one page is the music and on the facing page is the history behind the hymn. The hymn I played today “Praise My Soul, The King Of Heaven” was written by Henry F. Lyre in 1834. What I find interesting about this hymn is that Queen Elizabeth II chose this hymn for her wedding hymn at Westminster Abbey on November 20, 1947 the 100th anniversary of Lyte’s death. When you can read about the author and the story behind the hymn, the words mean much more.

Today I’m grateful that I spent all those years taking piano lessons. I can thank my mom for that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.