the turk returns

By skyedog

ANCIENT WALL

MERHABA MY FRIENDS

THE WALL

I place my ear to the wall
and close my eyes.
The sounds of ancient times
echo through the wall.
The sounds of the fisherman unloading
their catch ,as the fishwives chatter
on the morning sunrise.
They heave oyster cages across the beach
as urchins clamber over rocks,
to catch unsuspecting crabs , that lay
idle in the rock pools left behind
by the reseeding tide.
Horse shoes clatter on cobbled stones
as they wait for the catch to be loaded,
then off back up the cobbled lane to
the fishmongers to sell their morning catch.
The screeching of seagulls hangs in the air,
as they swoop here and there, hoping for a
sliver to eat.
The ancient sounds linger on as the sun beats
down, I open my eyes, and the sound has gone.

(Turkwords)

TURK :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.