Burley Recumbent Bicycle Carrier Project

Now that our dahlia planter boxes completed and planted it is time to move on to another important project.

Our Burley recumbent bicycle has become a favorite in our stable of bikes.

It is fully 24 inches (60 cm) longer than the average bicycle, too wide to carry crosswise on the back of a car.

I've been thinking about this problem since the first day we brought the bike home.

Re-working one of our roof top carriers is the answer.

I bought three aluminum strips to lengthen the bike carrier's pan the necessary two feet (60 cm)

Laying out the extension plans, sectioning the bike carrier's pan, drilling all the holes (36 of them), and organizing the bolts for assembly was today's task.

The project is off to a good start.

I think "Thule Burley Frankencarrier" will be my creation's name.

I can hardly wait to see the Burley bike on top of my little car.

There is potential for comedy in carrying, on one's car roof, a bike nearly as long as the car.

Full frame:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.