Bristol Light Festival 2

I had a funny day - in the morning I had to drop my plans as the roofer came back to fix one last thing, and sign it off as done.  Now the scaffolding will go soon - hooray. In the afternoon I couldn’t do anything I’d planned either, as a friend needed unscheduled help.  I was really happy to do that, and friends are always going to be my top priority. But it was a teeny bit stressful that I couldn’t do some urgent things. 
So - knowing how lovely it was, I popped down to see two more  of the light installations - the ones in the shopping centre. The main and first extra show ‘Trumpet Flowers’ - which I loved. The ‘Trumpets’ have echoes of lampshades, vintage record players, and I suppose, flowers.  Each one plays a jazz trumpet solo when pressed! Amazing:) And the colour and light change on the flower and the stalk. The makers of this are based in Sydney, and the snippets of jazz trumpet are recordings of Sydney musicians.
The second one is in a circle, dead centre in the shopping zone - surrounded by banks. It’s called ‘Halo’ and comprises several towers of rings - or haloes. Each ring plays a particular note and tone when touched.  Some groups of friends were trying to play together -  as each electronic sound resembled a drum, or a bass, or a keyboard. The colours also changed as the haloes were touched. Fascinating.
There seems to be more interactive installations than previous years, and the festival seems to be getting more sophisticated, and more international. More to follow soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.