Indoor lights

(Posting this on the 29th.)

Had decided to leave office last friday and take a walk as well. After a while of course I was confronted with the maze residential areas of Bangalore tend to be. It was A, who helped me out when I gave him running commentary on where I was and where I was going. A and a man with a dog.

Also visited a handicrafts shops called 'Eka' filled with the most abstract, "authentic" and expensive things. A lot of which transcended definition and were open to interpretation. It required you to look beyond the immediate beauty of the object into the idea, the interpretation, the effects of culture, the skills native to remote regions, etc. But I had this strange feeling that for the sake of business, the idea of good art can so often be exploited by creating something of apparently no value but attaching some complex meaning to it, almost challenging the connoisseur's taste. Ah, the thin line between style and substance....

P.S. J & A do have some wonderful lights in their house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.