The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Jones Wheelchair Swing

Yesterday and today, the playground contractors, GL Jones, were at work at our school, installing a wheelchair swing in the sensory garden. I had not heard of a wheelchair swing until I started my job last September, when the fundraising target was set at £8, 000 for this piece of equipment. I am amazed that the money has been raised so quickly!

I spotted the sign on the back of the GL Jones lorry today, when I was walking with little J, my outdoor companion. Thought I'd come back and blip it when I was free. As I was leaving the building, the lorry was just backing up ready to leave, so I was only just in time. I am a trained playworker, and a lover of languages, so it speaks to me. In English and Welsh.

The swans were back on the lake in the park today: Penn, Cobb, and four cygnets. I'd heard there were six, but I've only ever seen four. I was going to blip them, but see there are a few posted for today already! I'd hoped to be the first person ever to blip a wheelchair swing, but Fritz of New Zealand beat me to it! Perhaps one day they will become a more usual sight. I certainly hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.