BRIANW

By BRIANW

A Kwik Kusama Kapture, Bond Street, London

Since having to take time off due to anxiety and OCD I've been moved by my boss to another studio supposedly to slowly integrate me back into work. I've been back for a month or so and feel ready to go back to my own workspace and deadlines but have been told I will have to stay put for the foreseeable future. While I find this understandable in some ways  what I really want to do is get back to my old routine and the workload is far less intense that it would usually be at this time of year - I think Brexit has properly kicked in now and has really affected how many artworks are going to our European offices rather than London.
The stress with work is how badly things are run. We have a ludicrous system where once works have been checked in they go into a goods lift and can often sit there for days until there is someone available to distribute them to the various studios. It can mean we are sitting there with nothing to do for most of the day and then suddenly we are  brought works after four o'clock in the afternoon. Things that require urgent photography are not prioritised over works that haven't even been assigned for a sale and then we are blamed for not shooting things quickly enough! I also work with a colleague who often turns up late and is now in my studio shooting my deadlines while I shoot his - bizarre!
My boss decided this afternoon was time for another talk but kept including subtle digs about me "hoarding" work last year when actually I was shooting two, sometimes three times as much as my poor timekeeping colleague who seems to get away with stuff I certainly wouldn't. All very dispiriting.
Today's shot was a quick capture of the display window of the Luis Vuitton store on Bond Street. It features an animatronic sculpture of Yayoi Kusama and some of her artworks. She is someone who has had poor mental health for long periods of her life yet is still so creative. I find her inspiring and joyful - expressing herself through art even when she is struggling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.