I'm sorry, I'll read that again

I was grateful for this sign, as I had seriously considered a swim near these groynes at Southwold. They do serve a useful purpose as without them, people would have to travel several miles down the coast to enjoy Southwold beach.
Typically, the central heating has broken down at our cottage. The owners are doing all they can to ensure it is fixed as soon as possible but in the meantime we are without heating and hot water.
I've been to Southwold a number of times, and the sun has always shone, even in March, so it was a new experience going on a cold, dull and ultimately wet day. It was relatively quiet. Cafes were advertising comfort food and the chic clothes shops were pleading with customers to buy their lovely Summer ranges. After a walk along the beach and a stroll along the pier, we had a wander round the town, had lunch at the Adnam's shop then finally down to the harbour. We bought fish at the Sole Bay fish company, something I've always wanted to do, but the weather has always been too warm to lug fish around in the past, so that's the upside of this cold, miserable weather. I made a smoked haddock chowder with crusty bread for supper, which went down a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.