horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The Extra Day

Took an extra day off after the Super Bowl this year - I must stress that this is in no way connected with the commercial nonsense that is Valentine's Day, rather just a total coincidence, and (as usual) no cards or anything exchanged.

People at work used to always then accuse me / us of not being 'romantic', because on the specifically mandated day I didn't buy an inflated-price bunch of roses. When I would then point out that at random times during the year I'd just send Mel flowers to her office, and that only being romantic when you're told you're supposed to be really isn't that romantic at all, did people stop giving me a hard time.

That said,. this last year, with various stresses and strains around our move, to my shame it was the first time in ages a couple of weeks ago when I ordered some flowers.

MUCH more our speed to wander off up a hill (this being Benarty Hill, just a short walk, but astonishingly good panoramic views, Loch Leven north of us in the shot). So, in our way, both doing what we love with the person we love. Tell me again how a once-a-year bunch of extortionate roses tells that story better? ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.