Beewriter

By Beewriter

Secret Reservoir

Last week a donor told me about the Secret Reservoir…today I went to find it with Laura.

I dropped my car at Mini for a service and Laura picked me up, then we set the satnav for Dean Mills Reservoir. It took us up Coal Pit Lane as I’d been told by the donor, but it stopped half way up the road and said we were there. It was raining and misty, in fact visibility was very limited. There was no sign of anything, but mist and a few shadowy wet horses in a field. There was a very muddy and slippy path that headed up into the oblivion so we slipped our way up and…HURRAH…we found it!

It was wet and windy and we could barely see the other side. We walked round looking for the best place to get in and decided we just had to go for it. The water was quite peaty and absolutely freeeezing. We were in for about ten minutes and then it was the hardest challenge….getting dressed. Our clothes were damp and we were struggling with numb fingers, but eventually we got dressed. It was tricky getting back down to the car as it was so slippy, but we made it eventually.

We stopped at Smithill’s Farm on the way back for a hot sausage roll and a cuppa which warmed us up nicely. Laura then dropped me back at Mini to collect my car.

It was a great little adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.