Scribbler

By scribbler

Collection: Jewelry

The theme for Day 18 of the challenge is "a collection or group."

Those who know me in my year-round t-shirts and jeans will be amazed to discover that I was once a fashion plate. And men gave me gold! Here is the proof.

The owl is my favorite. It was designed and made for me by a famous Greenwich Village goldsmith on Christopher Street (who also made the tiger with the emerald eye.)

You see, I had once, in a flight of fancy, bought a trio of carved wood owls. And every time someone saw them, they assumed I had a collection that they were compelled to add to. So eventually I even ended up with a gold owl. It is now the only owl left of my once vast collection.

These are all pins ("brooches" to some) that poke holes in one's clothes, and I never wear them. They lie in a clump in a silk pouch in a dark drawer, languishing year after year. They were so happy to be invited out to be blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.