Pulling the Boat on Shore

The car dashboard read 2° for the outside temperature when Sue picked me up at 8am this morning but my walk along to the meeting point with the wind whistling round my bare legs made it feel like  -2°. 

Being the stalwart amazons that we are, we waded silently into the sea, any involuntary gasps as the water reached our tender bits were silenced. There has to be no screaming if we want to appear hardened dookers.  

The sun was well up in a perfect blue sky and Porty was looking every inch Mediterranean were it not for the deficit of about 30° in temperature. The wind was chilly but the car was so warm and welcoming after we got dried that by the time Sue dropped me off back home the shivering had stopped.

Later I whiled the morning away blethering to a friend before braving the cold once more for a fairly short walk. I’m afraid I caved in this afternoon and  put the heating on - British Gas 1 Dower House 0.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.