tussilago

My blips seem to ave taken on a flowery theme of late..perhaps because of the imminent arrival of Spring?

I spotted these cheery yellow Coltsfoot flowers today while out on a long walk with Jess. The flowers always appear before the leaves, which explains their old name filius ante patrem (the son before the father). The Latin name Tussilago derives from the word meaning "cough" and for centuries, Coltsfoot has been used as a remedy for coughs and sore throats. It can have harmful side effects if taken in excess, however, due to toxic alkaloids. You can read more about it here.

Jess and I walked over 7 miles, mostly on forest tracks and away from livestock, so she could be off the lead nearly all of the time. There were a couple of rabbits, but it's been so long since she saw one of those that I think she has forgotten how exciting they are to chase :-)

I've also done some baking today - a sourdough loaf and banana and cashew slice. When I returned from Sussex, my sourdough starter had gone on strike and it has taken the best part of a week to coddle it back into life! I also tried a new recipe for tea tonight - Aloo baingun (Aubergine and potato curry). Very tasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.