Third Time Lucky

On This Day In History
1981: Walter Cronkite signs off as anchorman of CBS Evening News

Quote Of The Day
"The democratic system is challenged by the failure in television because our evening news programmes have gone for an attempt to entertain as much as to inform in the desperate fight for ratings."
(Walter Cronkite)

Hmm. I don't rate KLM too highly, I'm afraid. The flight from Kansai Airport to Incheon was OK, but the flight from Incheon to Amsterdam was delayed by half an hour, leaving me only half an hour to catch the connecting flight from Amsterdam to London. The ground staff kindly printed me out a new boarding pass. Only problem, it had the wrong gate number on it. It said Gate 53, but the plane at Gate 53 was going to Tel Aviv. Double checked, it was a typo, it should have read Gate 3.

So I get on the plane at Gate 3. All the passengers were seated, then the captain said the plane has a fault so we all had to get off and board a different KLM plane at another gate. So I ended up being three hours late arriving in London.

Anyway, I'm all settled in now and looking forward to clearer sailing here-on-in.

"And that's the way it is, on March 6th, 2023," as Walter Cronkite used to say.

New Dress

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.