My Beautiful Cat

Her name is Laura Earle, and she lights up every room she enters.

Lately I've made headway on researching the family of early Philadelphia anarchist Laura H. Earle (1858-1911), after whom my beautiful cat is named. I'll have more related images soon for a more elaborate blip on the subject, but her cousin Thomas, her aunt Phebe, her grandmother Mary, and another cousin named Marianna have all turned out to be more interesting than I knew. In fact the aunt is buried in my neighborhood and was a key player in the Underground Railroad at Bird-In-Hand, Pennsylvania, helping over 1,000 slaves to achieve their freedom.

I still have not found a picture of the human Laura, so yet another shot of her fur-bearing namesake will have to suffice until further notice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.