Mercury with graffiti

A pleasant morning, a mix of sun and clouds, around 7c.
I went for a walk down Xwaaqw'um, quite a few other other people out enjoying the morning as well. I took this from the dock, looking down on the motor.
On my way back to the car, I found a driver's licence on the main trail. I recognized the woman's photo because she was active in SWOVA and the NDP. I looked up her phone number in the local directory but the number had been disconnected and there was no listing on Canada 411. I called SWOVA but got the answering machine. G suggested that I call the RCMP, so I did, and explained that I'd tried to find contact info for the woman with no luck. The person asked what number I'd called, and when she looked up a number, it was different. She couldn't give me the number but asked for my name and number and told me that she'd call the woman to let her know I'd found it and ask her to call me. Within a few minutes, the woman called, so relieved that I had her licence. I arranged to drop it off because she was babysitting her grandchild. While walking on the trail, she had pulled her mobile phone out of her pocket and the licence fell out without her noticing it. She didn't notice until she got home and went back to retrace her steps. I would have been panicking if I lost my licence, so I was glad that I was able to return it.
Happy International Women's Day! How disturbing to hear António Guterres, the UN Secretary General, say that gender equality is still centuries away. How disturbing to see women's rights being eroded around the world after many have worked so hard to gain them. Here's to strong women everywhere! We have to stand together and refuse to have rights eroded and removed. I liked this website from The Guardian featuring photos from female photojournalists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.