The back door

Given that my boys are not allowed phones in class, I turn mine silent, but for two hours it flicked open it's eyes as if it had something to say. At the end of the lesson I checked my messages; several thousand from Leila, which is normal because she doesn't use punctuation and presses send at the end of each semi-sentence.

They kind of went like this:

In the Naughty Rabbit with Bobby
Come!!
[photo of Bobby tucking into a high cholesterol thing]
Don't know how we're going to get him home
Nico's bringing a wheelbarrow
Come to the river with me once we've got Bobby back
[photo of Bobby lying in that position you put people in danger in]
[photo of fire engine circumnavigating the cathedral]

The hospital called at midnight (why's it always midnight?) to ask us to come and fetch him.

We stumbled back through the canal doors at some early hour.  But this was home and comforted me into the 4 hours of sleep before school. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.