Two Hundred & Two Minutes

Mrs S and I had our first of three gas engineer/plumber visits today to quote for work which meant that in order for them to look around unhindered an over attentive Paddy and I headed off for a morning walk. An hour and a half later we were home and out in the garden sawing logs for the fire and chopping three bins full of kindling. Working steadily through the afternoon I was surprised to find I’d left myself barely enough time to shower and change before a meeting at the rugby club.
I should have known!

The default time for a meeting is usually an hour, however McGeorge says the ideal amount of time is 25 minutes, he comes by this from Francesco Cirillo's Pomodoro method, which states that 25 minutes is the optimal time.
For me I think when you have a meeting that's passed the one hour point you are likely to find that you lost half of those attending at the 45-minute mark and the remainder were fading.
The average duration of a meeting is 31 to 60 minutes in part because the average attention span is just 10-18-minutes.
So by the time we hit the 202 minute I hadn’t just lost interest but the will to live! I had however updated all my social media pages including uploading photographs, caught up on my e-mails, including confirming a restaurant booking for twenty-five with menu choices for Saturday, read a few pages of my book - mobile phones, wonderful things.
The inevitable side effect of meetings are the follow up e-mails asking “can you forward …….. to for me to look at/alter/amend/update/suggest.

Long meeting = late dinner = late night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.