WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Orihuela

This morning we set off for Orihuela. What a palaver to get there. We put it into the satnav and it took us right out of our way and each time we had to retrace our journey and pay a toll on the road. We ended up having to pay 6 times. The journey though was miles and miles of orange and lemon groves. Eventually we arrived there and it is quite an interesting and ancient town. We went in the Cathedral which is from 16th century.
We also went in a smaller church where I lit candles for the family. I’m not religious but I always light candles for the family - especially just now.
I was somewhat disappointed in the town though as I expected there to be little cafes where we could sit and people watch but we didn’t find a single one! Everything here seems to be in shopping malls which just doesn’t have the same atmosphere.
So with no coffee we decided to head back to the apartment.
We both find driving around quite stressful - Frank because he’s the driver and me because I’m watching the satnav which isn’t always clear enough.

Extra - Ice cream anyone? ;-D))
Goodnight Blippers! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.