St Michael's Church, Stratford-sub-Castle

Was MOST surprised to find this village church, two miles from Salisbury, almost in the middle of the countryside, to be floodlit at 2 a.m. in the morning! It definitely didn't light up because I was there as the lightness in the far-off night-sky was what had attracted me to it.

It lies under the shadow of Old Sarum, which I've photographed and blipped many times. It's extremely well kept up, as is the churchyard and it felt really quite weird walking about with a heavy camera and tripod with absolutely no-one or anything about. Beyond the spill of the very bright lighting, the darkness was inky black, a cloudy night but too far away from city lights for it to be tainted by any orange glow.

I can only guess that it's a security measure. No thief, out after lead flashing is going to be scaling the church roof in light as bright as day-time. Not that I saw any lead anywhere, in any case. I still find it slightly odd, now, after walking up there and back.

Lots of shadow extraction and bits but the sky still an impenetrable darkness, so that's how I'll have to leave it.

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8, at 17mm on full-frame D700.

Thanks to all who just about managed to sneak my Electricity sub station Blip into the spotlight, yesterday, albeit for only a short while. Considering it was never taken as a pretty or popular picture, that is flattering indeed!

Try it in LARGE here.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.