Clustered

Monarch Butterflies wintering over.

I was in Nelson for a workshop today. When it finished I went to the spot where I saw monarchs a couple of weeks ago but there were none there. *sad face*

So I decided to check out the gardens where I had once seen them wintering over (many years ago). I'd been back a number of times since but never found the tree again - it was so long ago that I just couldn't remember where the tree was in the gardens. I couldn't find it again today either until I tracked some flying butterflies back to it.

As it happened, when I did find them, they were clustered on 3 different trees that were grouped together. This cluster here truly isn't even 5 percent of the mass of them. Here in my blipfolio they are on a different tree.

The sky was unfortunately uniformly grey and flat today so I just couldn't work out how to get any images that showed their colour without completely blowing out the sky and blurring the moving butterflies - so I'll definitely be going back on a blue sky day to see if I can find them again.

NOTE: Thanks so much for your comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's reflection time. It was one of those unplanned for moments that came out right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.