15 miles walked today

If I'm going on a big, long, walk, Ann usually only takes me round the block for toileting purposes first thing in the morning. This morning we trekked around the streets for a couple of miles which takes about 45 mins, so I was pretty certain I wouldn't be getting another walk until this afternoon. Do you want to know what happened?........................ After breakfast, Ann said, 'Trixie, I'm working 4 days next week (& I still don't know about Saturday) so I'm not going to have the time or energy to take you on a big, long walk for ages. It's a nice day so let's spend it walking.' So that is what we did!


Our walk today was 13 miles (well 12.98 to be precise), it took us 4 hours, 17 mins and for more than 3 hours of that time I was off my lead for run about time and splish, splash, splosh time. Yay! Oh and my behaviour was perfect. I did a bit of whistle training and came back every time but there were no distractions.


For those of you who live in Edinburgh, we will tell you where we went just in case anyone is mad enough to want to walk that far....................


From home (which is Morningside), 15 mins on my lead up the main road to Braidburn Valley Park, Colinton Mains Park, Redford Woods, Dreghorn Woods, Bonaly Country Park, Torduff Reservoir, Clubbiedean Reservoir (in this BLIP), Kinleith Woods, the Waters of Leith, Union Canal, Craiglockhart Woods, Meadowspot Park and then the last of my off lead run about time through the grounds of the Royal Ed.  Have put a screen shot of our 'Strava App' route in 'Extras' if anyone is interested. 


Needless to say by the time we got home at 2.45pm, we were both pretty tired. I gobbled up all my breakfast, (that I hadn't eaten earlier) and then went to bed. I've not moved since. Ann lay on the sofa her bunions were hurting her if anyone is interested! and watched two episodes of 'The Bay'.


And to think that Ann had set aside today, to start sorting out all the balcony pots/plants/solar powered lights etc. Oh well, ho hum, it's not exactly the weather for sitting out on the balcony at the moment so that job can wait.


BUT........................ what she has done today....................... is put up 'mirror film' on her bedroom window. She's only had this on her to do list for about 6 months. Lol! The reason for this being.................... she's owned this flat for 32 years and has never had a problem 'stripping off' during the day in the bedroom before, with the curtains open, because we're not really overlooked. But now..................... the two storey 'school outfitters shop' which our bedroom window looks onto (quite a distance away) has been knocked down and is being turned into a 5 storey block of flats, with south facing balconies, which will be facing our bedroom. TBH, they're probably going to be too far enough away for nobody to actually see if Ann is standing naked in the bedroom. And even if they can, who would want to look at a naked 64 year old anyway? At the moment the new build only has a metal structure in place, but we can see the workmen quite clearly, so we're guessing they might be able to see us. Mirror film seemed like the cheapest and easiest option so we'll try it for a few months and see how it goes.


And in other news................................ we're both still tired, Ann's bunions are still hurting. And I'm too sleepy to get out of bed to eat my dinner.


Happy Mother's Day to those of you who are mother's or who have a mother. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.