Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2023 Saturday -- Bragging

Certainly this lands in the category of bragging, but I am recording if only for myself what I purchased at the "re-create" thrift store in Cambria this afternoon. If I have a favorite thrift store, this would most likely win #1 in the line-up.  

I spent $15.00 and some coins and walked away with 18 spools of thread for $2.00; 6 pairs of crafting scissors for $5.00; 2 pickle/olive forks for 50¢ each; this colorful piece of fabric for $3.50 will become our tablecloth for spring; and for $4.00 a brand new (with the tags still attached) lacey piece of lingerie (my Grammie Teele would have called it a brassiere); I chose not to include it in my photo; no one needs to see it right? it's beautiful white lace. 

So this was a "good find" day at the thrift store. I only needed one of the spools of thread, but I think I would have paid more than $2.00 at a fabric store for a spool of thread, and now I have added to my stash of thread.

After the thrift store we drove to the other side of Cambria to visit the nursery and scored on six containers of "draping rosemary" plants for our backyard. We hope to one day have some healthy plants draping over the retaining walls in the backyard. These plants are drought resistant and we think, we hope, they are also fairly maintenance-free. We're sure they will need to be trimmed or pruned once a year or so and we'll hire an expert to do that.

After the nursery we drove to the part of Cambria called the "village" to enjoy an early dinner at Lombardi's Italian Restaurant and then drove 12 miles south, home to Cayucos.

And that was our Saturday on 
California's Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.