Grey Heron

I left before 7am this morning, it was rather windy so I wasn't sure what to expect. There were 3 heron one of which was the young one. She flew over to the grass and I started feeding her. As I was feeding her I noticed a small mark on her shoulder, it looks like a very small stain. I have never seen a mark like it on any other heron but her. She had a feed then flew over to the water to get more. The young male landed but she chased him off. The older male landed on the grass behind me so I fed him as well. As soon as the young one had finished eating she flew to the center of the loch where the nesting was last year so she may be back for breeding. Regardless I was delighted to see her back!
The older male finished eating and took off so I went a little further round and fed the young male. Lots of crows around today and very few dogs. I will leave at the same time tomorrow and see what happens. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.