A Day of Two Halves

After another windy and wet night, the morning brought a surprise - warm spring sunshine. What a treat! I returned to the nature reserve near to Pagham that I’d visited yesterday, but today I walked in the opposite direction - to Church Norton. I skirted along the edge of the salt marsh and reed beds, pausing to enjoy the peace and look at the birds, and the view of the distant waves crashing ashore at the spit entrance.

I retraced my steps of yesterday too, and sat again for lunch overlooking this fascinating area of land - which by this time was again subsumed by the incoming tide.

After lunch the weather disintegrated to heavy rain. Not to be dissuaded, I drove down the coast to Selsey and watched powerful waves of the high spring tide crashing ashore. I passed the RNLI station and learned about the many wrecks off the coast here (some dating from D-Day) and of the interesting geological features on the seabed. I then sought shelter with a cup of tea before venturing to Bracklesham Bay for a soaked walk along the beach. By this point I admitted defeat and returned to my warm, dry hut.

For my record, birds seen today include: shell ducks, shoveler ducks, wigeon, great crested grebes, avocets, curlew, red shank, tufted ducks, golden eye, kestrel, and long tailed tits. I heard chiff chaff and saw what I think was a baby adder on the footpath.

Hoping you are warm and dry where you are too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.