Down the hill to Paignton

The main road to Brixham is closed for months - a huge new housing estate is being built. I’ve made up my own diversion, instead of following the official one, which takes me down this narrow twisty, turny road to sea level. With wonderful views. The town below is Paignton - and you can see the pier. On the left in the far distance is Brixham, and about halfway between is my mums house. 
Today I had meetings with - the exterior decorator, the interior decorator, the carpenter, and the gardener.  Also hired a skip for next week. This time I was speaking to a woman (all the others are men) and she was very helpful. I sorted out all the keys (I had an assorted bagful) and had lunch with my lovely neighbour there who is so kind.  The 4 men - though I hired them separately - all know each other, and all talk about the others, in a slightly derogatory way. One of the decorators said when he was in the village shop everyone present was discussing the price of my house, and wondering was I asking too little. To me, a city dweller, this is an absolute nightmare and hell on earth, and illustrates perfectly why I don’t want to move down there and leave Bristol:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.