HMV (his master’s voice)

When we moved to the new (smaller) house I sold all my hi-fi gear and my collection of vinyl.   It’s called down-sizing.  I kept much of my CD collection though.

I experimented with transfering them to my computer but it’s not the same listening experience.  For me at least.  

I now have what I refer to as my radiogramme.  It has a radio, CD player, a streaming thingy and built-in speakers.  All encased in cherry-wood.

It’s remarkably good.  For the first time in years, I am actually sitting down and listening to music, rather than having it on in the background.  Which I rarely do.

Now, when Anniemay is off to the gym and the house is empty, I get my coffee, a comfy chair and play a CD.  I’m currently working my way through the Beethoven symphonies (Roger Norrington conducting).  Or something more serious like The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band will the circle be unbroken double CD.  

Funnily enough, when I play one of the band’s CDs, the dog often sits up and takes notice.  He’s not a great fan of the classics. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.