Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

The Good Ending

This is a throwback to a photoshoot I took with my brother at Manzi - an art gallery in Hanoi we were testing out long exposure photography and it was one of the moments I keep dearly as that reminded me of the relationship we had.
My brother and I never got along well when we were a child since we were 7 years apart. He was always the better one at everything and I was always the screw-up but everyone tended to me instead of him so we weren't great with each other. We would fight day and night about trivial things and sometimes things got violent, I'd smash a window or kick down a door, and once I stabbed him with a small nail file (not lethal I promise). But then he went away to school in Singapore and I was alone at home with no one to fight, no more harsh arguments over small things, and that created a distance between us. Whenever he got back from school, I just knew we were growing further apart. He became very short-tempered and reckless and that drove me crazy, we could not live together even for a single second. Then he went to university in Australia, and he didn't come back for a long time (3 years to be exact). Then it was 2021, the pandemic came and screwed over my plan to come to Australia to attend my brother's graduation and he was stuck there for a while. It was hard having to see him live all by himself. When he came back, we got on together as if something changed within the both of us. He showed me all these things and showed me his collections and hobbies and took me to work and took care of me as a brother would. These photos remind me of him, reminds me of the good times we had together, and remind me that
I finally have
A brother

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.