Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Big dog looking at me? Where?

For only about the second time in years, JR cancelled her morning circuit training, but feels a lot better today. Whether it’s lingering ‘slap face’ symptoms or just working too hard on the circuits, I’m not sure… 

So Archie and I set for a walk. I had my EarPods - I’m getting so much more use of them now that I can’t lose them. I finished Jon Snow’s ‘Shooting History’ - it was fantastic. What a life he’s had - in the right place at the right time on so many occasions since the 1970s. He’s met and interviewed most of the world’s leaders, including Thatcher, Reagan, Clinton, Gorbachev, Idi Amin… as well as covering many wars from the front line. Compulsive Compulsory  reading for any student today, I would think.

We walked along the Meadows, and I decided to pop in to Summerhall. We’d gone there last week, to the pub, but I went to the cafe this morning. It’s a huge space, with a radio playing in the part where the counter is, but peaceful in the main part. It was FULL of students sitting with their laptops. Archie didn’t mind it at all, until a mother with squealing baby arrived at the next table. I agreed with him re peace being shattered and we left, but I’d had my coffee and huge croissant.

We walked all the way home (6,052 steps), though I did check to see if my bus was coming any time soon. No. 

He dragged me in to the hardware shop, where he gets a treat, and I felt I should buy a small item (a plug thingie).

We passed the hairdressers, with this big boxer standing in the window watching him. Despite propping him up like this, he did not even notice it gazing at him! Maybe just as well.

And yay! It’s my monthly ‘free credit’ day on Audible, so I’ve at last got Sam Neill’s new book. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.