Happy Birthday Elvis!

Elvis is five today! 
We’ve had a lovely sunny day, and I did some cleaning of fence railings around the pool. Then later I started researching broad beans.  Thank you all for your advice, but surprisingly nobody said to peel the skin off. 
I have several French cookery books and all of of them say to do this, whereas Delia just says to cook them and eat them!
Then I consulted Mr F’s Larousse, and lo and behold there were recipes for fresh broad beans à l’anglaise (shell the beans but do not remove the outer skin) and broad beans à la français (shell and skin the beans)! 
We did some of each, and I can confirm that the beans are much nicer à la française, but oh what a fiddly faffy job! Life’s too short to be taking the skin off broad beans!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.