Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Douglas Stuart

What a joy to meet the wonderful Douglas Stuart tonight.

My friend Natalie and I went to the Leggate Theatre at the University of Liverpool to see him in conversation with Liverpool author James Rice, hear him read from his most recent novel ‘Young Mungo’, and take questions from the audience.

For those of you who haven’t read his 2020 Booker Prize winning debut novel ‘Shuggie Bain’, I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s a beautifully written and very tender book about family, class, poverty, addiction, violence, and growing up gay in and around Glasgow in the 1980s, which will, I suspect, stay with you forever, and grip you in the moment, as you cheer Shuggie on towards self-realisation and the hope of a brighter future. I can’t wait to read ‘Young Mungo’!

If you’re able to access the BBC iPlayer I also thoroughly recommend the ‘Imagine’ documentary ‘Douglas Stuart: Love, Hope and Grit’ www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001f89c as it will not only give you all the background detail you need but will also show you what a beautiful, talented and open-hearted soul Douglas is.

On my way home, I managed to drop my bank card somewhere and retraced my steps in increasing panic, trying to find it. Just as I was about to try contacting my bank to cancel the card I was saved by a guardian angel called Kaz, who found the card, managed to make contact with me and return it safely. Thank you, Kaz - you’re wonderful!

This week I’ve mostly been listening to the great Natalie Merchant’s new album ‘Keep Your Courage’. I saw her play with her old band, 10,000 Maniacs, at Manchester Free Trade Hall way back in 1989 and was mesmerised by her dancing. She’s still got the moves, and the songs. Here’s ‘Tower of Babel’ https://youtu.be/Zs6GkCbxnyw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.