Marionb

By Marionb

Rennes Les Bains

... en route to Bugarach...(extra) 

We stopped to take a walk around the town, take some photos and then headed for Bugarach - the little village under the mountain of the same name that was the destination for those who believed the world was going to end on December 21, 2012. CNN called it the Doomsday Destination...To the dismay of the residents, their little village was overcome with believers who had heard that this spot was going to be the only place left standing after Armageddon ..Of course the world did not end..but the village earned a place in history because of it! 

The landscape up there and en route to it is wonderful - mountainous narrow, winding roads and a rushing river..the village peaceful and quiet..one could sit almost in a street to sketch..which I did. I sat on a chair I had taken from one of the restaurant tables lined up along the edge of the road..and whilst trying to sketch, a woman who lived in one of the houses, came and introduced herself - en français of course -  and wanted to know if I needed water or wanted a coffee. I declined, but later as I was packing up to go, she waved at me and my sister who had just joined me, to come to her home, introduced us to her dogs and cats and served us coffee and as we were leaving, she presented me with a little book she had written! Another memorable moment that really makes a trip special...

We had dinner at the village restaurant/bar which is a tradition on these trips. The owners prepare a feast of local products and wines for us ..the highlight being the meat turning on the spit in the fireplace right beside the table...This time? Lamb - and absolutely delicious! 

A great day, but a long one - as usual. We have many 12-hour days here when we arrive home totally exhausted with only enough energy left to unpack our carry-alls and fall into bed! Not sure how long my stamina will hold out at this rate..I may need a day off soon! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.