The King of Reggae at the Old Vic

It’s what I think is called a jukebox musical - in that 20 of Bob Marley’s greatest songs were performed, by an excellent band onstage, and sung by three women playing the part of the I-Threes, and this man who played Bob Marley. I thought his singing and his movements and face were really credible. 
The last time I went to the Old Vic I saw Hamlet; this was so much more fun, everyone was up and dancing, singing along was encouraged. It was still a play however, and a narrator, and the Bob actor also spoke to each other and told the story of his short life, and the influences on his beliefs. He was Black Lives Matter but in the 60s and 70s
I saw him at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1975. The real one was much smaller and thinner, and he played the guitar as well as singing. He never stopped running around the stage. He was absolutely wonderful. That was 48 years ago, which is thought-provoking. His songs are timeless I think

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.