Delightful

By Serap

Hala Sultan Tekke

A wonderful day in Larnaca, starting with some time on the beach at our hotel, catching some rays and reading. We then on to lunch at a lovely fish restaurant that we went to with my Dad last year, who do such simple but tasty food. Lastly we stopped at Hala Sultan Tekke, which is a mosque in Larnaca, built around the shrine of Umm Haram, who was the prophet Muhammed's wet nurse, and who apparently died at this spot between 647 - 649 AD. I really love it here, although I am not religious at all and didn't enter the mosque itself as I was wearing shorts and didn't have anything to cover my head with. The whole place feels so special to me, there's something very calming and soothing about the site, I even felt it wandering around the rose gardens outside... although I think the abundance of peacefully sleeping cats may have helped with that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.