Plus ça change...

By SooB

Golden

This morning was looking bright and breezy but I was wise not to trust the weather, and sure enough within 10 minutes of my getting up it was lashing down with rain. I painted until the light meant that the little fiddly artist paintbrush work on the joins between colours was too tricky, and then declared it a baking day.

One chocolate cake, a mountain of shortbread, a tin of cookies, a tray of apple flapjacks and a slab of fudge later... and I felt very much like the Very Hungry Caterpillar on Saturday. And the weather had brightened up a bit. This quick shot is of the path out of our back garden. I think it might be time to get the strimmer out... I can't remember the last time the grass was dry enough to cut, but hopefully if it doesn't rain tonight I'll be able to get in amongst it tomorrow.

Tomorrow I also have to sort out a tricky family problem: my parents promised six months ago to come and babysit when we go away with our pals in June. But as yet no flights have been booked and I think it's fairly clear they are not coming. Very glum-making. This grandparents lark is tricky: how much help and support could/should you expect? I don't think we're very demanding to ask for one weekend a year to escape without the kids... but maybe I'm wrong. I know I haven't exactly helped matters by moving to a different country. Anyway, that's a phone call for tomorrow, not tonight, when I have the usual Everest-sized mountain of ironing and series two of Borgen waiting. Watching subtitled things while ironing is not the best, but the folk on Borgen are pretty much just talking Geordie, so I get by.

Ooh, and I just remembered there's fudge to nibble. The evening's looking up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.