POG's Journal

By POG

It’s Crackers…

Hi Everyone,

Well, I arrived at the hospital before it was open but found a way inside and made my way to the reception ready to check in at 7:15 as requested… As I sat there several others limped in obviously there for a total hip replacement too. 

Just after 7:20 a nurse called my name and showed me to a cubicle and said wait there. She returned about 10 minutes later and asked me lots of questions and then said I should get undressed and put the robe on ready for surgery, which I duly did.

About 10 minutes later my surgeon arrived and had a chat, I said I was very nervous, and he responded with “I’m not” which I guess was a good thing. He disappeared and then the anesthetist appeared, and we spoke for a while, he took my temperature and said it was very high. Then more and more people appeared all taking my temperature. They then gave me a COVID test, and they did a urine test and all okay.

I was then on my own again for a little while before the anesthetist returned and said they were going to cancel the operation as something must be wrong because of my temperature and I should go to my GP and find out what was wrong.

So sadly, it’s not “New hip, New life” but “old hip and back on the waiting list”.


Stay happy, strong, and healthy.

POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.