It’s Good To Be King

An early morning message offering to buy the settee from the flat, and collect it by 9.30, meant I was able to sit down and watch the Coronation in peace and in a lounge with a lot more space in it than last night!
An interesting service. It seems the Church was definitely setting the agenda - “Defender of THE Faith” was said very firmly, and strong emphasis on being Protestant. Henry VIII has a lot to answer for.
It was, of course, one of those great ceremonial occasions that we British do so well and is a source of constant curiosity to the wider world. I do feel a bit sorry for a man who is having to start work at the age of 74 and has no chance of retiring but, that is the life he was born into. At one point there was a shot on the TV of Charles walking in front of William with young George holding his grandfather’s train. One wonders if the latter two were thinking about the day they’ll be the one at the front wearing the crown.
Is it all relevant to modern Britain? Don’t know. I watched it but was doing other things at the same time so not glued to the telly. Overall, I’m glad I witnessed it and it may be the only Coronation I see in my lifetime if Charles is as long lived as his mother.
My “Hero of the Day” award goes to Penny Mordaunt who had to hold that sword pointing upwards in front of her for nigh on two hours, with only a thirty second break when King Charles got to hold it for a bit! She’s probably had a few sessions in the gym over the last few months, building up those muscles…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.