Julesey's

By Julesey

Portraits galore

Today I continued herding stewarding school kids in and out of events at the Hay Festival. However, in between doing this I also had my new job of trying to persuade some of the authors at the festival to allow me to take a photo for the 'books are my bag' campaign. This consists of asking a tired and stressed author to pause in the green room and have a photo taken in a dimly lit room by a complete amateur. The back drop is certainly less than stunning and there is no option to move to anywhere decent. The brief is that the subject should not be looking at the camera but should be doing something 'normal' and the bag, with books in, should be clearly visible.
All the people I have asked have been lovely about it but I have clearly had a limited time.
The results have been patchy! I have played with the exposure and ISO with some success and am learning loads and getting better. I wish I could have a go at doing it properly with thought on backgrounds and lighting!
Today I forgot to ask if I could use the images for Blip so here nstead is a photo of Jo from Hay Does Vintage pop up shop at the festival site. She is looking as lovely as she is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.