Pockets

A friend of mine posted a thing on Facebook earlier today on the new Shane Meadows film about The Stone Roses. She's really excited. Shane himself claims it's the nearest he's come to a love letter in film. I was never really a big fan of the group, is it an age thing? I'm nearly 44, Shane and my friend are a few years younger. Everyone I knew back in 1989/90 was more into Pixies, REM, Throwing Muses, Mudhoney, Dinosaur Jr, etc rather than the Manc stuff (although the working-class thuggish edge and swagger of the Happy Mondays always held a certain appeal, possibly for cartoonish rather than musical reasons). I might have danced around to 'I Am The Resurrection' on several occasions at The Leadmill on a Saturday night but as for following the band or buying the records, nah, it wasn't really for me.

Having said that tho', the piece with Shane Meadows in today's Guardian is a really nice read. And I will go and see the film because Shane is a little bit brilliant as well as being an utterly lovely man.

Right, nowt to do with that but this blip today is a continuation of the 'monochrome flora' theme I've running with at the moment. And the track that I'm about to link to is one I was thinking of when taking photographs on the way home from school drop-off this morning. It's worked out just how I wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.