furnishing the new home

The new bluebird box , unused for a week after it was put up , has been rented by a pair of swallows. They have been bringing in grass and twigs to furnish the nest. Meanwhile the bluebird parents appear to be feeding young as I saw dad bringing in a nice fat caterpillar to the box. The box is still standing thank goodness and has not tipped. The first swallow pair in box #2 may have eggs as one of the pair seems to be sitting in the nest peeking out a lot. >I need to watch this one whenI have time as I am worried that there may only be one parent , THere was a lot of activity last week but yesterday I only saw the one bird , though I wasn't there long. 
In other news  : our cat Sirius aka Sweetie , was left at the Ithaca vets Thursday in prep for surgery Friday . They took the raised part of the lesion off , we are praying it is benign but I am very concerned it may be a melanoma. Pathology pending. If malignant we will need to hear what the prognosis is if they remove the rest of the pigmented area that was flat before deciding to proceed with more surgery or not. He still is not back to his usual self 4 days post op. I think he is finally speaking to me but not-playing yet.
And my uncle's water heater spewed over 20 gallons of water onto his basement floor soaking the carpet and hopefully not damaging the furniture . 
heading down today to see if there is anything I
 can help with and also bring a second dehumidifier. sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.