BRIANW

By BRIANW

Display Window, Soho, London

Today I had my first street photography contretemps for a number of years. It was bound to happen at some point due to the nature of the beast but the person concerned was unnecessarily aggressive and confrontational. The thing is as soon as I saw him turn round and look towards me I lowered my camera and didn't even take a shot. This didn't stop him shouting "You taking a shot of me? You taking a shot of me? I didn't give you no permission" and  then suggesting "no police gonna be able to protect you". I'd done nothing wrong but showed him the images I'd had taken were not of him and apologised even though I had nothing to apologise for.  However, it was better to be safe rather than sorry. After that (and my heart going like the clappers) I thought I'd stick to these three window themed images instead!
With my street photography I never believe in getting really close to people and shoving a camera in their face as I think that's totally uncalled for. I prefer to try to capture people in the environment and location they are in at that precise moment. Sometimes eye contact will be made and I am perfectly wiling to show someone an image if they want to see it or delete it if they are unhappy.
I think there are a couple of street photographers who take striking close up images but are very rude and come across as unlikable and confrontational but have very big reputations in this field of photography. One is Bruce Gilden and the other is Dougie Wallace. I find their approach wrong headed and so blunt but many critics seem to disagree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.