World Environment Day..

..as well as the Impact Day, as organised and called by our work Organisation.
Fortunately to go well with this day, I had chosen a thread called Greening, unlike last year (Back to School) where I went to a government school to spend time with the kids. There are many such threads each of them conducted every year to serve the society in some way or the other we live in. It is a dedicated day for both the donor and recipient, each of them is affected in this noble cause.
Today, the day started early in the morning, we went in the dry and barren areas that surrounded a place named Ashram - Shanti Sarovar. The target set was to plant around 1200 trees by a group of us, over 300 in number. Under the bright sun, we began our day of service. Initially, I was assigned to a group of setting up the irrigation pipes, where I was required to put a nut in the pierced hole of the pipe, such that once the water is suppiled, then through these several holes in the pipe, each plant gets it amount of respite.
I somehow found this job quite boring, so I was looking for a chance to work in one of the other groups, who where actually serving the purpose of Greening - by planting trees. On having found the right opportunity, I immediately grabbed the sapling, started to work on mud while placing the plant in the pit that was already dug. In this way, me along with my fellow companion who was engaged in this activity from the start, had covered almost all the required area where the plants were to be placed..
All was co-ordinated well among people, step by step, each doing his/her part rather effectively. I quite enjoyed being a part of all this, and I hope our tress that we have planted today flourish in the times to come..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.