Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

So, the mystery with the plants from Friday is still a mystery... I think someone replanted those after I'd replanted them...but, that's just my thoughts.
Todays chore was to plant corn. I made a collage because I wanted to show you the process, and also show you how much the tomato plants have grown!
Top left is me going out to the large veggie bed/patch at the top of the park, top right is when I've placed the plants were they should be planted, down left is when my work is done, and the last photo I took on my way back: the' Hobbit house'. :) Today was hard work, but I also took the chance to enjoy the outdoor too, and put on a lot of suncream... 
I learned that corn needs to stand in groups, not in a straight line. They need to have around 60 cm space between them to thrive and to cross pollinate each other. If they stand in a row, they'll have no chance to pollinate each other and crop will be lower. When I was done planting them, my boss and I fetched some fiber fabric to cover up the corn plants. We put large arches of plastic in the ground first, and then let the fabric rest on those. Iron pars keep the fabric in place, and hopefully hares and deers away from the corn.
I also got to know that we have a day off on Friday. Staff is going on a work shop and The Greenhouse is closed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.