Ready for bed.

My sister picked me up from the bus station at 11.30pm last night, and it was 1am before we went to bed. I slept heavily. She always provides me with a dressing gown and fluffy socks.

I went to the hospital at Midday and I have been there all afternoon / evening. Ethan and Jake arrived soon after I did, and we were joined this evening by 2 of my sisters, my mum’s long term friend (Linda), and 2 other nephews, (Jarred and Joel). We had to take it in turns to spend time with her.

My mum is apparently much improved today, but to me she is almost unrecognisable. She is certainly a shadow of her former self in a physical sense, but her stubborn nature and stoicism remain steadfast. I think the nurses have the measure of her - they certainly have their work cut out.

I managed to pin down a doctor, briefly, but am none the wiser. Leaving an elderly, frail, confused parent in hospital at night is like leaving your precious baby in the hands of nursery staff….but more difficult, because you don’t have a choice, and there is very little feedback.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.