P Team SD

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

I am still having a lovely time at work. Really, I'm loving the new environment. I probably worked harder and more productively today than in the last six months combined. And people were nice about it and said nice things. 

I feel fuzzy. 

Also, Fazzy.

Fazzy was in the office today! I gave her a big hug and made a fuss of her. We went for the traditional fries at Macca's and had the best time catching up*.

I love Fazzy.

I also had a Disco Meeting with Briar. This is where we book a room for an hour and listen to The Sounds of Disco while working. Well... I say working... she might have invited Jess into the meeting too and we spend maybe 15 minutes chatting. 

PLUS Shalom came in with her baby today! So it was a total reunion for Team Jess. 

However, you may recall that I had mentioned how bonded and fun and close the new project team are. I was surprised by this. I really didn't need to do anything. They seem very fond of each other, funny and open right from the start. 

THERE IS A REASON FOR THIS

THOSE POOR PEOPLE

Lee-Ann was on the same train as me going home this evening. "I'm so glad I caught you," she said. And then proceeded to tell me the history of the team. 

It seems they were led by a complete effing PSYCHO last year. In addition to being totally incompetent, she also bullied, harassed and humiliated various team members. "Her instant reaction to any question was always combative," said Lee-Ann. 

It took months of abuse before she was eventually moved on**. The team were left without a manager and asked to justify their own existence by producing the business case.

(Something the lunatic PM should have done months earlier. But however).

So they worked like bastards between themselves to produce the business case. Leading and planning their own work as well as doing it. "It was exhausting," said Lee-Ann, "but it bonded us."

Having delivered the business case, the team were given permission to carry on, but were given a new PM. "His style was very blunt, very hierarchical," said Lee-Ann. "He got six emails from different team members that first week, saying we've just been through this, we don't need this and we're not going back to this."

He was also moved on, in less than a month.

Now they have Tony, who they seem much happier with. He does feel outside the team, a little bit. But the team themselves are very comfortable and very happy together. 

I feel intensely lucky to have missed all the drama and to be here just in time for the fun stuff. But it does explain a LOT.

I'm hoping I can fit in with this tight-knit group. They seem lovely and friendly so I'm hopeful. But mainly, thank eff I'm joining now and not six months ago, or I might be crying that Kiwiwank wasn't so bad by now.

S.

* I told Fazzy about a conversation I overheard between Caro and her work-wife Lynnie yesterday. It turns out that a member of their team (who is pregnant) has a lucrative sideline peeing on pregnancy test sticks and selling them on eBay. 

"But...but...WHY?" asked Caro. 

"To sell them to women to trap men into marrying them!" replied Lynnie. 

"That's TERRIBLE!" said Fazzy, when I told her. 

I then relayed how the conversation went from there. Caro told Lynnie about Mechelle, who wanted to start a "dirty knickers" company, selling her used knickers to Japanese businessmen.

"Oh we've ALL had the dirty knickers idea," replied Lynnie. 

"NO WE HAVEN'T," said Fazzy, horrified. 

"I'm learning so much!" added Fazzy. I knew she had missed me. 

** To another project where she could do less damage. It horrified Caro that Shenée had been forced out, but this woman was allowed to stay on. You can imagine how I feel. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.