JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Priority and sense

This sign is in the staff-lift in my place of work. It raises a smile, in a post-modern, ironic, knowing kinda way. The alternative is not the kind of world I want to be part of, where we push past a wheelchair or kick past a crutch.

It's a pretty obvious sentiment then that we would give priority to wheelchair users and people with mobility problems, but then again it'd seem obvious to not sit on the seats at the front of the bus or to not drop litter on our streets, but still we do them and still there need to be signs to tell us what to do. Does the lift need the sign? I did think about inviting some chums to attempt a world record 56 people into the lift, but it seems there's a sign to confine us to 8.

The other potential reason for needing the sign, short that is of just a state control issue, is that once upon a time, you just know that someone did not give due priority. The subsequent thinking then reached the level where it was decided a sign would do the trick. And what if I was that inconsiderate, insensitive lout who, despite reading the sign, decides not to give priority? Is there a fine system? Capital punishment? Tell me if at any stage you think I am taking this too far?

Of course I have given, and shall continue to give, due priority, it just saddens me that it needs told. You could argue 'suggested' rather than told - the word 'please' is prominent of course - but it'd be nice to think we could all go a bit more on the 'respect' issue overall. I've heard it said that 'respect has to be earned' - baloney, respect should be natural, a given. Extrapolate that, and there's no need for the sign. Manners. That'll do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.