Place: Largo, FL 63/85
Main activity: Fri - Al's place & hospital, pool, Aldi
Notes: Awake 530a and then back to bed and slept till nearly 8a - vivid dreams. Made my coffee and online a bit and then around 10a headed to Al's place - someone had locked up so thankfully had my key. Took his rent check to the office and surveyed the damage - wasn't quite as bad as I was expecting but needs some deep cleaning and probably laundry and bedding thrown out. Debated and then decided to head to the hospital - was a bit anxious but grabbed his iPad and a pair of glasses as I knew he'd appreciate those. The phone message said all had to wear a mask (I haven't anywhere for years and didn't plan to  if possible but stuck one in my pocket). I walked in, went thru security, on to the Visitors desk for my badge and they just directed me where to go - hardly saw any masks at all and was relieved. Found his room, he was surprised to see me and in quite good spirits. Seems he must've gotten some foodborne illness that caused infection and went into his kidneys. He also has a-fib (maybe for awhile, we don't know) and then suffered a series of strokes which affected his excretion, thus the loss of control of #1 and #2, his right eye (mostly blind anyway) and left ear (which hasn't been great for awhile) - seems the falls over the last couple yrs could also had played a part. He is still slurring quite a bit but it hasn't affected his mind or trying to get the words out and he's talking up a storm, happy to be in a clean beautiful space with amazing attentive and friendly staff. Made my heart happy. He'll be in the hospital for a bit and then on to some type of rehab facility before they relocate him to some level of assisted living - that's the plan as of now. I stopped at the Aldi at Gulf-to-Bay on the way back for berries and lettuce (was hoping they had plantain chips but no) and then got back feeling much better about the situation (has been much worry and ache), the day and myself. Went to the pool briefly for few min of sun before the clouds came in - perfect timing. Came back and read for an hour until I made my "pizza" with a salad and had the Partake NA IPA - was decent. Worked on video then for Jo's Course Overview for Honey C Golden's site - had to redo several times. Again, some lovely rain in late afternoon but didn't last very long (is never long enough for me) tho did cool off the air again - so lovely and able to sleep with the windows open again! To bed earlier than usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.